BLOG TOUR + GIVEAWAY: Dare To Love by Carly Phillips

DTL Banner

 

Dare to Love FinalSince finding out his father had another family on the side, Ian Dare swore to be the upstanding, responsible man his cheating parent had never been. But after one glimpse of sensual Riley Taylor, with her feminine curves and beguiling eyes and Ian is entranced. He will do anything to possess her … but does that include extending an olive branch to the half-brother who is a constant reminder of pain he’d rather forget? 

Independent and always in control, Riley Taylor makes no apologies for choosing men carefully. Relationships have never been a priority, and she believes herself hardened to domineering men – until she meets charismatic Ian Dare. He manages to turn a simple kiss into an all out assault on her senses. Their affair heats up and they soon realize they complete each other in ways neither ever imagined. But Riley’s family includes a man Ian would rather live without … 

REVIEW

I LOVED Dare To Love.  Carly has been one of my favorite authors for years and Dare To Love was just as amazing as every other book that she has written!!  Carly combines just the right amount of romance and drama in her stories.  The chemistry between Riley and Ian is undeniable but family issues come between them.  But can Riley and Ian really live without each other…can they overcome their family differences??  Dare To Love is the first in Carly’s new series…will this end in a HEA or a cliffhanger?  If you have never read any of Carly’s books…make sure you pick this one up…you’ll be glad you did!!

5 STARS

***ARC received from Author in exchange for honest review***

 

AUTHOR INTERVIEW

How long have you been writing, what inspired you to start?

Answer:

I’ve been writing for over 20 years. It’s very hard to believe. I was always an avid reader. When my first child was born, I sought an escape from the colic in books. I ended up discovering the Romance section for the first time and I was hooked! Finally I could always like how a story ended. I backtracked into authors’ earlier works. After I read LaVyrle Spencer’s Separate Beds, I knew I wanted to try my hand at writing romance. Once I started, I was hooked. I KNEW I would never quit. It was a part of me.

5 best things about being a writer?

Answer:

~ I love being able to work from home. I was able to be there as my kids grew up. I was so lucky! I am so lucky.

~ I love the adrenaline rush of a scene that writes itself and feels so right! Creating characters who feel real.

~ I love the camaraderie of the Romance community. My best friends are through RWA. Later came Twitter and Facebook and I’ve met the most amazing people – authors, readers, bloggers …

~ I love that all parts of what I do excite me – the writing, the promoting, the social media … how many people can say they love what they do? Like I said, so lucky. I’m grateful.

~ And lastly – (who’d have thought this was such a tough question, LOL!) … I love having an outlet for the voices in my head!

What are three things about you that might surprise your readers?

Answer:

1. I’m innately shy despite how outgoing I seem on line.

2. I’m tone deaf and can’t carry a tune despite loving to sing. So I only do it when I’m alone.

3. I have no sense of rhythm and I don’t love dancing.

Top 5 favorite scenes from Dare To Love

Answer:

Oooh! Fun question.

~ First love scene – Ian was pretty dominant and I’d never written that before.

~ Scene by elevator when Riley runs from Ian and he has to stop her – I always wanted to write a scene like that, where the hero can physically grab the heroine and it’s not taboo or bad.

~ When Ian gives Riley the necklace.

~ When Riley faces her father.

~ Ian and Riley’s reconciliation scene.

What scene did you have the most fun writing? Why?

Answer:

There’s a scene where Ian and Riley have a big argument … and she storms out (or tries to) … It was fun for me because in this story I felt less constrained by “rules” and I was able to write what I wanted.

Please tell us about your characters.

Answer:

Ian Dare is a self-contained alpha guy. He found out about his father’s betrayal when he was 17 and it affected him greatly. He looked up to the man and his illusions were shattered. He stepped up and became the man of the house, taking care of his mother and siblings, and never letting anyone in. Then he meets Riley. Riley Taylor came from an abusive household. Her mom passed away. The only people she considers family are her step-mom (who is her female role model) and Alex Dare … Ian’s half brother. Ian and Riley’s chemistry is electric, and they are so alike, they complete each other (sorry to be cheesy) … but there are complications – family complications and Riley’s past …

3 Random facts about you.

Answer:

~ I can eat the same food day in and day out and not get bored, as long as I like it.

~ I’m a fast fast reader. I drive friends crazy with how quickly I can finish a book.

~ I knit. Not well but I do. And I play Mah Jong once a week. If not I’d probably never leave the house or be social.

What are you currently working on? What other releases do you have planned for 2013/14?

Answer:

November 18, 2013 – Dare to Love – Ian

January 7, 2014 – Perfect Stranger – eBook (novella was in Hot

Summer Nights Anthology this past summer)

February 4, 2014 – Perfect Together – The last SERENDIPITY novel –

Sam Marsden and Nicole Farnsworth’s story

March 2014 – Dare to Desire – Alex

Updates can be found at:

website – http://www.carlyphillips.com

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/carlyphillipsfanpage

Twitter – http://www.twitter.com/carlyphillips

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10000.Carly_Phillips

 

About Carly:

New York Times bestselling author Carly Phillips tossed away her legal briefs and a career as an attorney to become a stay at home mom. Within the year, she turned her love of reading into an obsession with writing. Over 30 published novels later, Carly writes sexy contemporary small town romances, striking a balance between entertainment, humor and the emotion her readers have come to expect and enjoy. Carly is a New York Times bestseller, USA Today Bestseller, Publisher’s Weekly bestseller and as of 2012, a Romance Writer’s of America RITA Nominee. In 2002, Carly’s novel, The Bachelor, became Kelly Ripa’s “Reading with Ripa” pick on Live with Regis and Kelly, making it the first romance ever chosen on a nationally televised book club. Carly received her undergraduate degree from Brandeis University and is a graduate of Boston University School of Law (J.D.). To date, Carly has over thirty novels to her credit, all available wherever books are sold. When not writing or playing online, Carly loves to read, occasionally to knit, and to spend time with her family. She lives in Purchase, New York with her husband, two daughters and her dogs, a soft coated wheaten terrier and a Havanese. Her dogs are prominently featured on her website and Facebook page.  

GIVEAWAY:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/bc4d7a14/

 

One thought on “BLOG TOUR + GIVEAWAY: Dare To Love by Carly Phillips

Leave a Reply

