REVIEW TOUR & GIVEAWAY: Not Quite Enough by Catherine Bybee

NQE tour graphic

NOT QUITE ENOUGH

The Not Quite Series, Book Three

Montlake Romance, Contemporary

October 08, 2013, First Edition

Paperback & Kindle

NQE Cover

“Bybee’s gift for creating unforgettable romances cannot be ignored.”

 –RT BOOK REVIEWS, TOP PICK, 4 ½ STARS

Monica Mann has made it her life’s work to save lives. After an earthquake and tsunami hit the shores of Jamaica, she volunteers her trauma skills with Borderless Nurses. Calculating and methodical, Monica creates order out of whatever chaos she finds.

Until she finds the perpetually barefoot, impossibly masculine Trent Fairchild. No one can pin him down. No, really. He’s a pilot and manages a small fleet of choppers on his adopted island home. Hopelessly drawn to one another, they manage to slip away from the wreckage to get a little closer. And they get a lot closer than expected when aftershocks from the earthquake trap them in their own life-or-death scenario. Paradise has brought them together. Now will it tear them apart?

EXCERPT

Monica glanced up at the gray skies and frowned. “So, Trent,” she began again. “Are you the only one shuffling the foreign medical staff around the island?”

He shook his head. “There are a few others. Why?”

He kept his eyes on where he walked and avoided her questioning gaze.

“Just wondering.”

He didn’t buy that. “Just wondering?”

“Seems like anyone could drive me to the clinic.”

He walked her behind the hospital and up a short path to where his helicopter waited. “Anyone could drive you.”

She hesitated when she saw her ride. “I thought you said you were driving me.”

“I am. After a short flight to where my car is parked.”

She turned a full circle. “Can’t we just drive?”

Trent moved in front of her and removed his sunglasses. “It’s a short flight back to the airport, then a thirty minute drive. That’s if the roads are cleared.”

“Can’t we just—” Her ice blue eyes never left his.

“I didn’t kill you the first time, Monica. I won’t this time either.”

She swallowed.

“It was better thinking you volunteered to take me instead of being the only person capable of it.”

Actual fear hid behind her eyes. “Why’s that?”

“I prefer flirting to flying.”

A slow, easy smile met his lips. He knew then irrevocably that Monica thought about him at some point during her short stint on the island.

He replaced his sunglasses and reached for her hands. “How about a little of both?”

REVIEW:

I really enjoyed this book…it was the first book by Catherine I had ever read.  It was unique and heartwarming and a must read!  People coming together during disaster shows what humans really can be like…which was one of the things I really enjoyed about this book because in real life you do not see that.  This story has sadness, joy and love….everything that makes up a good story!

4.5 stars!

Author Interview:

How long have you been writing, what inspired you to start?

I’ve been writing seriously now for six years. I can’t believe how much time has flown by. As for what inspired me, well…many things. My love of reading and creating my own endings to the books I read made me try to write my own. That and a need to change my profession. I’m very happy with the outcome.

 5 best things about being a writer?

The commute.

The pay (now days).

The travel.

The new friends I’ve made.

Setting my own schedule.

 What are three things about you that might surprise your readers?

I sing in the shower.

I could write a book about the first 18 years of my life, but it would have to be a series…and it wouldn’t be a romance.

No rattlesnake is safe around me.

 Top 5 favorite scenes from Not Quite Enough.

Now wait here… If I told you my favorite scenes in the book it would be a HUGE spoiler alert. And where is the fun in that?

I like Ginger!

I like when Monica and Katie have wine and chocolate.

Caves can be good and very bad!

I like re-visiting Jack and Jessie.

I like Trent’s brothers. 

What scene did you have the most fun writing? Why?

*SPOILER*  The cave. Why? Because there is everything inside that cave.

And I can’t tell you anything else or risk ruining the book for my readers.

 Please tell us about your characters.

 Trent is a slightly wounded hero who his taking refuge on the island of Jamaica when the earthquake hits. As a pilot, he spends his efforts shuffling the medical staff around the island when he meets Monica. Volunteering with Borderless Nurses, Monica is on the island only to help with the relief effort… Never did she imagine meeting someone who would steal her heart.

What inspired you to write this book?

Book one, Not Quite Dating and book two, Not Quite Mine. It’s easy to see the progression of how books need to flow when you’re on book three of a series. I’d already developed Monica’s character in books one and two so it was a given that she would get her own book. Then there is the whole nurse angle. As a retired ER RN this book reflects some of my own life. I never worked with a relief organization but I have worked with many doctors and nurse who have. Their stories would blow away anything I could ever write. 

GIVEAWAY!!! 

Prizes: one Kindle Paperwhite, 2 $10 gift cards, and 4 $5 gift cards.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/8a854410/

BIO:

Bybee Author PhotoNew York Times & USA Today bestselling author Catherine Bybee was raised in Washington State, but after graduating high school, she moved to Southern California in hopes of becoming a movie star. After growing bored with waiting tables, she returned to school and became a registered nurse, spending most of her career in urban emergency rooms. She now writes full-time and has penned novels Wife by Wednesday, Married by Monday, and Not Quite Dating. Bybee lives with her husband and two teenage sons in Southern California.

 CONTACT LINKS:

http://www.catherinebybe.com

catherinebybee@yahoo.com

catherinebybee.blogspot.com

twitter.com/catherinebybee

BUY LINKS:

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Not-Quite-Enough/dp/1477809597/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1379425197&sr=8-1

B&N:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/not-quite-enough-catherine-bybee/1115410359?ean=9781477809594

BAM:  http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Not-Quite-Enough/Catherine-Bybee/9781477809594?id=5626188019237

BOOK DEPOSITORY:  http://www.bookdepository.com/Not-Quite-Enough-Catherine-Bybee/9781477809594

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “REVIEW TOUR & GIVEAWAY: Not Quite Enough by Catherine Bybee

Leave a Reply

